The history of the IGALA conference series

Since 2000, IGALA has held a biennial conference which, reflecting the international membership of the association, has been held all over the world. In 2020, the eleventh IGALA conference will be held in London, United Kingdom - see the 'Conference' tab for more details.


Previous conferences:


IGALA 1 - Stanford University, California, United States May 5-7, 2000

IGALA 2 - Lancaster University, United Kingdom, April 12-14, 2002

IGALA 3 - Cornell University, New York, United States, June 5-7, 2004

IGALA 4 - University of Valencia, Spain, November 8-10, 2006

IGALA 5 - Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand, July 3-5, 2008

IGALA 6 - Tsuda College, Tokyo, Japan, September 18-20, 2010

IGALA 7 - Universidade do Vale do Rio dos Sinos, São Leopoldo, Brazil, June 20-22, 2012

IGALA 8 - Simon Fraser University, Vancouver, Canada, June 5-7, 2014

IGALA9 - City University, Hong Kong, May 19-21, 2016

IGALA10 - University of Gabarone, Botswana, June 20-22, 2018





IGALA board members


The current President is Holly Cashman, and the association will soon be running elections for the role of Vice-President (President-Elect). All members of IGALA may run for President or for any other role on the IGALA committee; elections are held every three years via this site. The election process for 2018 is currently open - see here for more details.


Below, some of the current and past members of the IGALA Board are shown at the closing of IGALA9 in Hong Kong. From left to right are Kate Power (current secretary of IGALA), Lucy Jones (current member), Brian King (IGALA9 conference host), Lia Litosseliti (past president), Tommaso Milani (journal editor), Sally McConnell-Ginet (previous member), Allyson Jule (IGALA8 conference host), Jane Sunderland (past president), Holly Cashman (current president), Michelle Lazar (past president), Joanna Pawelczyk (current member), Federica Formato (current member), Agnes Kang (past president), Benedict Rowlett (postgraduate student representative).














IGALA newsletters


To join our mailing list, and receive updates from IGALA, you must first become a member of the Association. You can find out more about this here. To read previous IGALA Newsletters, just click on the icons below.